Alaska is a “fault” state – also known as an “at fault” or “tort” state – with regards to auto insurance. Every registered motorist is required to possess insurance coverage which can pay for costs in the event of an auto accident that they caused.
The following are the minimum requirements for driver liability coverage in Alaska:
- Property damage coverage up to $25,000
- Bodily injury or death up to $50,000 for each individual
- When multiple people are harmed, bodily injury totaling $100,000
Unfortunately, despite the law in place, there is a substantial amount of drivers in Alaska who do not have insurance at all. So what happens when an uninsured driver causes a collision which results in you suffering a serious injury? What must you do to recover your entitled compensation?
Fortunately, you do have options to file a claim with your own insurance provider to cover damages. However, it is only possible if you have uninsured motorist (UM) insurance or underinsurance motorist (UIM) insurance. Even though every driver does not possess this type of insurance, the monetary compensation awarded may not cover all of the costs corresponding to your injury.
Obtain Experienced & Skilled Legal Representation from an Anchorage Injury Lawyer
If you cannot recover the appropriate funds from an insurance company, then the final course of action is to file a personal injury suit against the driver at fault. A claim can be structured to address your financial needs derived from your injury. It is imperative to get experienced legal assistance from a qualified personal injury attorney.
At The Law Offices of David Henderson, I am committed to helping victims in Anchorage recover the compensation they deserve. With millions of dollars recovered on behalf of my clients, I understand what it takes to get the most favorable outcome possible.